A few of my shartisans and zomo case review

Shartisan_2000px.jpg

Picked up one of those zomo artisan cases. It looks very nice, the nicest on the market easily, and costs about as much as a plastic tada.

Does it work? yes... but we are not in the mech hobby for things that just work. We want more.

Pros
- looks great
- very solid aluminium unibody bottom case
- finish is nice but i'm no expert
- silicone sheet prevents damage to the bottom area of caps and holds them in place
- has spacing between each row for easier keycap handling
- includes a aluminium feet to have it in a standing position

Cons
- acrylic window is friction fitted, very easy to dislodge by pushing or holding it while touching the window
- aluminium top cover does not lock onto the bottom at all
- silicone sheet tends to buckle a bit (depends on your artisans)
- silicone sheet is not attached to the case
- silicone sheet attracts dust very well (photos cleaned up a bit)
- no rubber feet/pads/strips included

Several of these points can be seen as both a pro and a con. The silicone rubber sheet is a good idea but with the pictured artisans, it buckles upwards in the middle instead of being flat. This does help keep the sheet snug in the case but it's not a good system. If it was a looser config, the sheet could move around or even fall out.

A lot of the cons can be ignored if you just leave this on a shelf and never touch it. But you may want to take this to show a friend or go to a meetup. In that case, I would be very careful. The original box and packaging should be kept for this. It is hard cardboard with two types of foam to keep it secure.

Shartisan_02.jpg

Don't have any detail photos of it since this is not a formal review or anything.